Unplug your WD My Book Live, or you might find your drive’s data wiped

Image: WD product overview

If you own a WD My Book Live NAS, you should immediately disconnect it from your network — users have discovered that their data has seemingly been deleted off the device, with no action on their part (via Ars Technica). In a post on its community forum, WD says that the data loss appears to be the result of “malicious software,” and advises any My Book Live or My Book Live Duo owners to disconnect their devices from the internet to protect their data.

Some users on WD’s forum report that their devices appear to have been factory reset, while others report seeing a page requesting a password they don’t know.

In most cases, those who have been affected say that all of the data on the device appears to be gone, with their file structure…

Continue reading…

You may also like...